3 weeks from today

We ended up spending Thanksgiving with Jim’s family. We didn’t go to my moms at all. I decided to skip it for many reasons; she invited a lot of people, her place is small(which can cause a panic attack), and honestly, I didn’t feel like spending the day pretending to like some people I can’t stand.

On Thanksgiving I learned that no matter which family we spend time with, each one comes with its own drama.

It’s December now-the hardest, most bittersweet month for us. We love Christmas, and thankfully, it hasn’t been ruined by Grace’s death. She was still alive on Christmas. New Years Eve, however, will never be fun for us again. Grace’s birthday is the day before, so when we had her, we spend New Years Eve & Day mourning her in the hospital.

Last Christmas I made lasagna for all of us on the Neau side. Everyone loved it so much they have asked me to do it again.  We’ve spent every Christmas with the Neaus since we got married.

I have no idea what we are doing to celebrate Grace’s 2nd birthday. It’s 3 weeks from today.

My mom said she wants to light sparklers that day. 🙂 It made me so happy to hear she always celebrates too! That is the greatest gift she could ever give me.

This is also going to be the first Christmas without my dad.

I have no idea what to expect, I just hope I can survive it. Survive the next three weeks.

 

One thought on “3 weeks from today

  1. You’ll be able to make it hun! It’s nice to have your mom to celebrate your angels birthday with. Mine is never here for me, but I am thankful for my close friends that are when the time comes. Last year we made Anthony a cake, had a small service and just talked. made it so much easier to get thru that day. Im sorry to hear about your dad. sending hugs your way!

Leave a Reply

