a love letter to Jim

Dear Jim,

Oh lord. I am trying so hard to find words to describe how I feel about you….love, respect,honor,incredible passion…none of these seem to touch the depth of my heart. My heart is an ocean, and you are the….

The day I laid eyes on you I knew. We both did, but it took a little bit of time to figure it out because who the fuck falls in love at first sight? that shit only happens in movies. Once I started to get to know you I realized I had found the missing piece of my puzzle. It didn’t take long before we started our journey to marriage. Our wedding day was the best day of my life, and I often relive it in my head.

I never imagined I could ever love someone so completely, let alone feel so accepted and blessed.

Although we have only been together for a total of 23 months, I know we will spend every day loving each other as we build a life and a family.

I read somewhere that 90% of couples who lose a child end up divorcing. That is heartbreaking. Losing Grace has only strengthened our bond. We have grieved together and separately. Thank you for always holding me while I cry and scream in agony. I could not survive this awful tragedy without your strong loving arms to lie in. Thank you for saying “I miss her too” or “I know baby, I know.” Thank you for helping me realize I am very vulnerable and I need help, both at home and from a mental health perspective. Thank you for being my voice when I feel scared.

As I write you this letter and the tears flow freely, I know that you will also cry when you read it. We are truly a unit in every sense of the word. It’s me and you against the world baby!

I love you with every fiber of my being. You are the light of my life; my everything.

Love,

Sara

Leave a Reply

